Geisel MedNews is a headline news service that offers an inside look at the activities and accomplishments of the Geisel School of Medicine community, including Geisel School faculty, students, and alumni.

Featured News - June 2017

Dartmouth Tuberculosis Vaccine Passes Important Milestone

Investigators at the Geisel School of Medicine announced that two new studies of DAR-901, their investigational vaccine against tuberculosis, have moved it to the forefront of new vaccines in development for global control of this deadly infectious disease. These studies “represent major milestones on the path to approval of and the global fight against tuberculosis,” said Ford von Reyn, MD professor of medicine at Geisel and principal investigator for the DAR-901 vaccine. In recognition of his groundbreaking work in the fight against tuberculosis and HIV, von Reyn received an honorary degree at Dartmouth College’s commencement on June 11.


Joanne M. Conroy, MDNew Leadership Announced for Dartmouth-Hitchcock and Norris Cotton Cancer Center
Physician and Dartmouth College alumna Joanne Mather Conroy ’77 has been named CEO and president of Dartmouth-Hitchcock
and Dartmouth-Hitchcock Health, succeeding Dr. James N. Weinstein, who retired on June 30. Currently CEO of Lahey Hospital and Medical Center in Burlington, Mass., Dr. Conroy will begin work at D-H on Aug. 7.

Physician and scientist Steven D. Leach, MD, Director of the Rubenstein Center for Pancreatic Cancer Research at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, has been named Director of the Norris Cotton Cancer, effective September 1. 


Make your gift before the end of our financial year!
Giving - Students
Our financial year ends on June 30th – there still time to make your gift in support of the medical school! NEW this year: you can now direct your gift to a range of funds. Give now!

Geisel Students Receive Prestigious Research Fellowships
Alyssa Flores '19
Alyssa Flores ’19
will conduct vascular research at Stanford through a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Medical Research Fellowship. Lye-Yeng Wong ’18, an advocate for global health issues, is heading to South Africa this summer as a Doris Duke International Clinical Research Fellow. Fernando (Freddy) Vazquez ’18 will spend a year on the National Institutes of Health (NIH) research campus as an NIH Medical Research Scholars. And Natalie Ring ’18 will spend time this summer in Germany and Poland through a fellowship program that uses the conduct of physicians in Nazi-occupied Europe as a lens through which to examine contemporary medical ethics.

In Case You Missed It... 

Charles Barlowe

Geisel Professors Honored
Several Geisel faculty members were named to endowed professorships in recent months:
Charles Barlowe, PhD - James C. Chilcott 1920 Professor
Konstantin Dragnev, MD - Irene Heinz Given Professor in Pharmacology
Kathryn Kirkland, MD - Dorothy and John J. Byrne, Jr., Distinguished Chair in Palliative Medicine.
Mark Creager, MD - Anna Gundlach Huber Professor in Medicine

Donald M. Berwick, MD, MPP

Geisel Celebrates Class of 2017
Donald M. Berwick MD, MPP, President Emeritus and Senior Fellow at the Institute for Healthcare Improvement, delivered the address at Geisel’s Class Day ceremonies on Saturday, June 3, where the accomplishments of 72 new graduates were celebrated. Hear Dr. Berwick’s speech here or read more about the ceremony and the Class of 2017 here.

  At Your Service Be a part of the growing Geisel School of Medicine online community,, where you can can keep in touch with fellow alumni, learn about special events and volunteer opportunities, make online gifts, and read the latest news from the Geisel School.A free email account is available to Geisel School alumni. For more information, please visit the Dartmouth College Alumni Relations website.Geisel MedNews is produced by the offices of Alumni Relations and Development Communications.For questions, feedback and requests, contact:
Tel: (603) 653-0726
Fax: (603) 653-0712